Skip to main content

Vacation

Regular staff members and full time faculty accrue vacation time in hours each month according to the Texas Government Code.

Vacation accrual occurs monthly from the first day of employment and ends on the final day of employment. But vacation with pay may not be granted until a staff member has had six (6) months of continuous employment. Vacation leave is separate from sick leave.

Full-time, benefits eligible employees accrue eight (8) hours per month from their first day of employment and accrue additional time per month as years of service increase. Part-time, benefits eligible employees accrue prorated time based on the number of hours worked each month. Vacation leave must be approved in advance by a supervisor.

Find Your Vacation Leave

Vacation-eligible employees accrue vacation time in hours each month. Eight (8) hours accrue when state employment begins, increasing when a service milestone is met. See table below for monthly accrual hours by service, and allowable carryover hours.

Schedule of Vacation Leave Accruals for Full-Time Employees

Length of Service Hours Accrued per Month Days Accrued per Year Allowable Carryover (Hours)
Less than 2 years 8 12.0 180
At least 2 but less than 5 years 9 13.5 244
At least 5 but less than 10 years 10 15.0 268
At least 10 but less than 15 years 11 16.5 292
At least 15 but less than 20 years 13 19.5 340
At least 20 but less than 25 years 15 22.5 388
At least 25 but less than 30 years 17 25.5 436
At least 30 but less than 35 years 19 28.5 484
At least 35 years or more 21 31.5 532

http://www.sao.texas.gov/reports/main/20-303.pdf, page 88

Part time employees who work 50 percent of the time or higher, receive pro-rated vacation accruals based on their work percentage.

Leave and Time reporting is managed by department timekeepers and the Payroll department in the consolidated controller's office.

Find vacation leave balance by logging in with your EUID and password at MyUNTSystem.

Lapsing or Carry Over Vacation Balance

At the start of each fiscal year (Sept. 1), the number of hours in each employee's balance exceeding the appropriate maximum carry forward amount (see accrual chart) will be removed or lapsed from the employee's vacation leave balance and roll over to the employee's sick leave balance. These lapsed vacation hours are no longer available for vacation, except according to the rules, and will not be paid upon separation, retirement or termination of employment. Lapsed or unused hours may be donated to the employee Sick Leave Pool.

Transfers to Other State Agencies

Employees who transfer to another Texas state agency or higher education institution without a break in service (final day of employment at one agency is the day before the first day at another agency) will not be paid for vacation leave. Rather, the employee's vacation balance will transfer to the new employer.

To ensure a correct balance at a new position, contact the hiring manager at the new agency or higher education institution.

Lump Sum Payment (Form HRM-9) for Vacation Upon Separation

Employees who have more than six (6) months of state service and are not transferring to another state agency may be paid for accrued vacation. Contact the department supervisor and Payroll.

Texas Government Code and Vacation Leave Policies

Vacation and other types of leave are regulated by state law and policies at each system location. Find vacation policies: